Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum > Filtration and Skimmer Specific

Old 01-16-2012, 08:34 PM

Coleus is on a distinguished road
Default New reactor design for bio pellets reactor

Yesterday i cleaned my bio pellets reactor and got to say i did not like cleaning it so I did some searching for new toy and see this thread

http://reefbuilders.com/2011/10/23/a...in-biopellets/

With the unique way of side spinning pellets, I am curious if it will reduce pellets clogging problem, thus reduce the cleaning part.

Your thoughts?
Old 01-16-2012, 09:47 PM

Reef Pilot is on a distinguished road

I have a Vertex UF-20 with a Mag 5 pump (also run my chiller off the same pump), and it works beautifully. I ramped mine up gradually, but eventually had the full 1000 ml Vertex pellet bag in it, and it was tumbling nicely right to the top. I have been running it now for about 6 months and have never had any pellets clumping or clogging. What's important though, is not to use the sponge filters. Instead I used a mesh both top and bottom.
Old 01-16-2012, 09:49 PM

The Grizz will become famous soon enough

I have 3 NextReef MR1 and I imagine its like most other reactors, water flows in threw 2 holes in the bottom. From what I see of these is there is a series of small holes in 4 rows inside where the pellets are. I could easily see this working much better and might just have to modify one of my reactors to give it a go.

8' - 165gal Reef
DIY LED's Build
2012 Nano Contest Winner
Febuary 2013 POTM Winner
300 gal + 60 gal Complete DIY Build
Old 01-16-2012, 09:51 PM

hmm interesting, don't you get clogging with all the mulms got created? I ran mine on deltec fr 509 with no sponge but eventually it will clog up over time.
Old 01-16-2012, 09:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Grizz View Post