Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 12-20-2014, 10:02 PM
Good Guy Albert

albert_dao will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to albert_dao
Default Albert's Fusion 10 Nano

So I remembered reading about Innovative Marine's Fusion series on RB earlier this year and had been eagerly anticipating their arrival since. I had previous, favorable experience with their Nuvo 16, having set up a small tank for my friend's (now ex) girlfriend and felt that this would be a substantial upgrade to the AIO tank market. Anyway, I'm a builder, not a writer, so without further ado, here is the story (thus far) in pictures and links:

First off, here's the original article that got me going - http://reefbuilders.com/2014/07/28/i...10-20-gallons/

Then they sweetened the deal by throwing in the light:

http://reefbuilders.com/2014/10/07/f...vative-marine/

Here's the actual product detail on IM's website:

http://innovative-marine.com/nuvo-aq...fusion10.html#

Just this past month, they became available at the wholesaler, so I picked one up. No unpacking pics, but it's a tank... So it wasn't very eventful.

Some of my observations:

• The media tray came with three foam blocks. A regular one, a carbon impregnated one and a green one which I didn't bother to read up on. Into the junk tub they went (we all have one, don't we? Full of old powerheads, busted heaters and chunks of tubing too short to be of any practical value, but I digress). I replaced this with some cycled Hydroton media from one of the display tanks.

• The light (http://reefbuilders.com/2014/10/06/i...kye-led-light/) seemed of reasonable build quality and output for the price of the unit but lacked an on-off switch. Clearly, they expected it to be connected to a timer.

• The screen top was a nice touch. The screen itself was a bit opaque, so I replaced it with some finer, more translucent netting to improve clarity.