Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum > Filtration and Skimmer Specific

Old 01-11-2013, 12:44 AM

Calgarynewtankguy is on a distinguished road
Default comparing skimmers

I have a 150 Gal display and 40 gal sump/refugium. I was running a red sea C skim 1200 that i bought used and now it doesnt seem to be able to main tain a good skim. have to play with it to even get it to bubble to the top of the cup. I am fairly new to this hobby. I am looking at 2 skimmers to replace it and wanted to hear some experience from both they are:

Reef Life support R8

Super reef octopus 2000 internal

both are internal skimmers but I am too new to decide which would work better for me. any thoughts?
33 gal sump/refugium
Sun System Tek-light T5 6 bulb
Mag18 return pump
RLSS R8i skimmer
Neptune Apex controller
BRS combe reactor (carbon GFO)
Old 01-11-2013, 03:50 AM

RDNanoGuy is on a distinguished road

If you're willing to spend $500 on the RLSS then i would look at the SRO 3000 instead of the 2000.

That said, i love my SRO 3000 EXT. Great build quality, excellent pump, easy to adjust and very consistent. If you get neck cleaner too it works even better. Mine pulls about 2 litre's of black goo every week and i haven't had to fiddle with it in over 2 months.

The internal SRO's work best in 6" of water though so you may need to make a little stand for it if your sump level is too deep.
Old 01-11-2013, 04:46 AM

claymax is on a distinguished road

or you could wait until reef octopus comes out with their dc line of skimmers, they use the same pump as the rlss and will hopefully be a bit cheaper. the air draw numbers on those pumps are sick!
Old 01-11-2013, 03:21 PM

Time is going to be a problem. My water condition is starting to reflect the poor skimming I have right now. So the sooner the better. My wife is going to do water changes until I can get the skimmer on place.