Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Nano Tank Talk

Old 07-23-2011, 06:26 AM

Beano1169 is on a distinguished road
Default Help: New to SW

Hi I'm new to the salt water game, I have experiance with Fresh but I have become bored and want to start something new and exciting.
I have some knowledge and research on Sw tanks and are I am continuing to expand on that. It is possible that I will be obtaining a 40g tank drilled in both back corners with overflows. I may also be getting a 29g which i will turn into a sump from some DIY vids. In the mean time I have a 15g non drilled, T8 lighting Fw tank taht i might try to start a Nano in, any suggestions on how to go about converting this tank into SW. And if anyone is selling parts for a 40g SW setup I would like to hear from you on that matter. Thanks for your time.
Old 07-23-2011, 10:13 AM

Money pit is on a distinguished road

Welcome to Canreef
If you keep your eye on the buy/sell section, pretty much anything you need will eventually come up for sale. Good luck and enjoy.
Old 07-23-2011, 02:06 PM

abcha0s is on a distinguished road

Welcome to this awesome hobby that we share. Read through some of the build threads / tank journals here. There's lots of great information buried in them.

If you just want to chat about some of your ideas, feel free to come for a coffee. I'd be happy to walk you through my setup.

- Brad
Old 07-23-2011, 02:31 PM
Gold Member

FishyFishy! will become famous soon enough

On a tank that size, without being drilled, I would recommend an Aquaclear 110 or 70, modded into a refuge. I have a small 10 gallon running on a aquaclear 110, with a heater, floss, a deep sand bed, live rock rubble, and then cheato with a fuge light.

That combined with a good T5HO or Metal halide light would work awesome.