Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2011, 03:12 AM
Maverick00 Maverick00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 380
Maverick00 is on a distinguished road
Default biopellet flow

so ive been running biopellets for a few months now and im happy with them, however im wondering if my pump is too weak. I have the smaller TLF reactor with around 200ml of pellets. Im using the maxijet 1200 wide open. The pellets at the surface and slightly underneath are tumbling but a good inch and a half from the bottom up are frozen still. Is it recommended that ALL the pellets should be tumbling or should this be "good enough"? i plan on adding 100ml more in the near future as well. what do you guys think?
__________________

- 33 Gal - 20Gal Sump, MP10/Hydor Powerheads, Aquaticlife 4x T-5HO, Vertex IN100, TLF w/Biopellets, Tunze ATO

-45GAL Build in Progress!-
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2011, 04:51 AM
globaldesigns's Avatar
globaldesigns globaldesigns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,863
globaldesigns is on a distinguished road
Default

You need more flow.

The top should tumble aggressively, as you go towards the bottom, the tumbling should get slower, and at the bottom they should slightly move. Basically you should see the pressure build up in the bottom and see the pellets slowly flow from the bottom to the top. so it should be a slow cycle, with only the top being aggressive.

No pellets should just sit there NOT moving.

I hope this makes sense.
__________________



Setup: 180G DT, 105G Refuge (approx. 300lbs LR, 150lbs Aragonite)
Hardware: Super Reef Octopus SSS-3000, Tunze ATO, Mag 18 return, 2x MP40W, 2X Koralia 4's Wavemaker
Lighting: 5ft Hamilton Belize Sun (2x250W MH, 2X80W T5HO)
Type of Aquarium: mixed reef (SPS & LPS) with fish
Dosing: Mg, Ca, Alk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2011, 05:07 AM
Bblinks's Avatar
Bblinks Bblinks is offline
Addicted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coquitlam B.C.
Posts: 2,974
Bblinks is on a distinguished road
Default

I concur, the pellets should be tumbling aggressively at the surface with a good amount of flow through the rest. I use rio 1400 pump(I have used many different rio pumps, they have been amazingly reliable and affordable.) the pump is rated for around 320 gallons per hour with 1 foot head pressure through a nextreef smr1 reactor. IMO that is a very good set up. I have used two little fish, nextreef mr1 with moded screens for top and bottom but I still believe a proper bio pellet reactor should be employed to get the best result.
__________________
Though a tree grow ever so high, the falling leaves return to the root.

300DD - 140DD



TOTM Fall 2013
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2011, 05:46 AM
Maverick00 Maverick00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 380
Maverick00 is on a distinguished road
Default

makes perfect sense, Thanks guys
__________________

- 33 Gal - 20Gal Sump, MP10/Hydor Powerheads, Aquaticlife 4x T-5HO, Vertex IN100, TLF w/Biopellets, Tunze ATO

-45GAL Build in Progress!-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:01 AM
htfn htfn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond BC
Posts: 259
htfn is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry to interrupt.
I set mine up about 3 weeks ago and I still don't see any change. I heard cyano should comes up for short term. I also use TLF reactor 150 and maxi jet 1200. I see pellets are tumbling but more likely bottom part and upper part is still tumbling but I don't think it's aggressive. Am I doing something wrong? Would be appreciate if anyone can fix my problems.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:16 AM
The Grizz's Avatar
The Grizz The Grizz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 15 min NE of Red Deer
Posts: 5,470
The Grizz will become famous soon enough
Default

When I was running the TLF150 I started with a MJ1200 with about 250 ml of pellets but found the flow was not enough so I jumped up to a MJ1800. Now I am using a NextReef MR1 and a Ocean Runner 2500. I did not have any cyano show up after running them.
__________________
Feed the bear goodies, make a new friend, don't feed the bear...............

8' - 165gal Reef
DIY LED's Build
2012 Nano Contest Winner
Febuary 2013 POTM Winner
300 gal + 60 gal Complete DIY Build
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:30 AM
htfn htfn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond BC
Posts: 259
htfn is on a distinguished road
Default

OK so maxi-jet 1200 is not enough flow. I guess I searched wrong place then. Do you think flow rate should be more than 350g/hr?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:46 AM
Bblinks's Avatar
Bblinks Bblinks is offline
Addicted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coquitlam B.C.
Posts: 2,974
Bblinks is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by htfn View Post
OK so maxi-jet 1200 is not enough flow. I guess I searched wrong place then. Do you think flow rate should be more than 350g/hr?
I honestly don't think you need anymore than that. The problem I had with TLF is the inlet and outlet, TLF comes with 1/2 inch barb hose but for pellets you need 5/8 or even 3/4 barbs so you can get the flow that you need without grenade the reactor. If I were you I would really look into a smr1 or a vertex reactor. If thats not an option, try to find some thing used. All else fails, throw a bigger pump on it and make sure you remove the foam in the TLF, re-tap the barb fitting so you can put a larger diameter hose an try again. Be patient and let I run for awhile. I have had very good results with running the pellets. The smr1 with the pump costed me around less than 200 with tax.
__________________
Though a tree grow ever so high, the falling leaves return to the root.

300DD - 140DD



TOTM Fall 2013

Last edited by Bblinks; 03-12-2011 at 04:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2011, 07:39 AM
htfn htfn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond BC
Posts: 259
htfn is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes I already remve foam and install mod both bottom and upper plate, but I did not know I have a reactor problem. What you pay, what you get, right? I will serch the other reactor or try to put a larger hose.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2011, 02:41 PM
reefan reefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 57
reefan is on a distinguished road
Default

I use the large Vertex reactor and it works fine, no clumping.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.