Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 02-11-2011, 05:13 AM

Earthgirl is on a distinguished road
Default Skimmers

Hi there!!
I'm extremely new to this hobby and are just starting out with a 40 gallon cubish tank
I have had it running since last sept. Did the cycle (and coming from fresh, this was much easier!)
How many out there have a skimmer??
I do water changes diligently every 3 weeks or so (depending on the look of the duncan coral... Really good indicator of unhappiness!)
I just bought a red tip bubble aneome which I adore, but want to have the happy and healthy tank that everything deserves
Opinions appreciated!! 
Old 02-11-2011, 05:55 AM

fencer is on a distinguished road

1. Buy a skimmer at 2x the rated capacity
2. Buy what you can afford(expensive skimmers are not necessarily the best ones)
3. Ask members in this forum about skimmers that you may like...product brochures look too good
4. I prefer in sump skimmers
5. There are several members who run skimmerless
6. The difference between a good skimmer vs a bad one is that it cleans faster in the end not necessarily better
Old 02-11-2011, 07:20 AM

silentcivilian is on a distinguished road

Depends what you want in the end... Like fencer said. SPS.. very picky coral.. its the neat freak of the coral world from what ive gathered.. my tank is too dirty for it to really take off. LPS softies like a bit of the messy stuff.. so it does well in my tank.. but this hobby and your tank are dictated by your budget... I have a limited budget, so I have no sump or anything.. check out my video link for a peek.. or you can have the infinte budget - http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=1811725 -- that guy in that thread has no concept of a regular pay cheque to my understanding.. amazing to see how that thing has taken off...