Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 02-04-2010, 03:46 AM

lorenz0 is on a distinguished road
Default Considering switching to MH

So for the past 5 months i have been debating about switching over to MH from T5's and seeing the difference my lighting would make in my tank. Right now my colors are good out of my sps but they seem to be gaining color with the new bulb config, but i am just not happy.

Now it is a Tek 6 bulb right now at 16" tall. And i will be looking into 2x250 MH and probably the lumenmax 3's so i can run a retro T5 supplimentals down the road.

My biggest worry is heat, now alot of t5 guys have said that the "heat factor" is similar but only by a few degree's. I went last summer with the tank on the mid level of the house and we had a few days where it got to 30+ degree's in the house (no AC) so what can i expect with MH. I am new to this lighting .

So my 2 choices are:

1 - switch to the MH

2 - stick with t5's are save up for a better fixture (constellation or sun power)

any words of advice would be greatly appreciated
Old 02-04-2010, 03:55 AM

naesco is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenz0 View Post
So for the past 5 months i have been debating about switching over to MH from T5's and seeing the difference my lighting would make in my tank. Right now my colors are good out of my sps but they seem to be gaining color with the new bulb config, but i am just not happy.

Now it is a Tek 6 bulb right now at 16" tall. And i will be looking into 2x250 MH and probably the lumenmax 3's so i can run a retro T5 supplimentals down the road.

My biggest worry is heat, now alot of t5 guys have said that the "heat factor" is similar but only by a few degree's. I went last summer with the tank on the mid level of the house and we had a few days where it got to 30+ degree's in the house (no AC) so what can i expect with MH. I am new to this lighting .

So my 2 choices are: