Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:51 AM
burrows14's Avatar
burrows14 burrows14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: south surrey
Posts: 468
burrows14 is on a distinguished road
Default Neptune systems APEX vs APEX lite

Im looking at adding a controller to my system in the next couple months and am doing some reasearch. I was liking the DA elite to start with but now I am Leaning towards Neptune systems. Can anyone tell me the difference between the lite and the regular apex? As an intermediate reefer would I need to spend the extra cash on the regular apex?
__________________
60" 120G project-DONE!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2010, 02:21 AM
xtreme xtreme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 771
xtreme is on a distinguished road
Default

From what I can tell the main differences are that the Lite doesn't have the ORP/second pH probe port nor does it have the 4 variable speed ports used for controlling Tunze's or dimmable T5's. I have been running the Apex since Monday night and am loving it so far. Very easy to program through your web browser.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2010, 02:27 AM
xtreme xtreme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 771
xtreme is on a distinguished road
Default

Just to add to that, the reason I opted for the Apex was because I wanted to have tunze control. My ORP port currently sits vacant as I decided not to buy the ORP probe. If you run a Ca reactor you would want the second pH probe so that may be a deciding factor. I run dosing pumps and don't know if its that important to monitor ORP so I could live without the second port.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2010, 02:33 AM
burrows14's Avatar
burrows14 burrows14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: south surrey
Posts: 468
burrows14 is on a distinguished road
Default

Sweet thanks for clearing that up for me I used to run Tunze but now Im running a vortech and plan on adding another one by the end of the year. I see Neptune is developing a system for that but not sure if its an add on or a firmware update.
__________________
60" 120G project-DONE!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2010, 02:53 AM
burrows14's Avatar
burrows14 burrows14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: south surrey
Posts: 468
burrows14 is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you have to buy any software with your unit or did it come with some?
__________________
60" 120G project-DONE!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2010, 03:12 AM
xtreme xtreme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 771
xtreme is on a distinguished road
Default

I haven't bought any software. Programming can be done through the apex display, or better yet through your web browser as long as you can hook it up to your home network and to the internet. You can get a free iphone app called aquanotes to control your tank from your phone and you can also log in from anywhere with internet access when set up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.