Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 11-16-2009, 09:21 PM

rjengen is on a distinguished road
Default A noobs first attempt at a tank...by rjengen

So, I've been stalking all of you for the last two months, gathering intel and insight on what I hope will turn out to be a great first attempt. I have several fresh tanks in the house, and have always wanted to get into salt water, but honestly just felt overwhelmed with everything. Well, as I said, two months ago I signed up on here and decided it was time to figure it all out, and make a go at it.

I had serious thoughts of drilling one of my existing tanks, but then when I started thinking hard on it, I decided I'd let someone who actually knew what they were doing do it for me. If it turned out bad, I could get mad at them, and not be poopy at myself for a crumy job. Now, I live in Grande Prairie, and if any of you know the place, you know we're SOL up here for anything that resembles LFS that deals with salt, so I emailed a few people with my idea's for a tank. I ended up having Red Coral in Calgary build the tank, and here's what we decided.

48x18x20 Tank = 74g ish
Eurobraced
External overflow set up for a herbie
Bottom of the tank drilled for a closed loop
Glass edges polished and beveled
Tinted black back
and my fav...Starphire front

Well the tank was finished friday, and I ended up getting up at 5 in the morning saturday and did the 1500km door to door round trip to pick the tank up. I was going to overnight in Edmonton at the inlaws, but outside of Panoka on my trip home a jeep tried to pass me on the #2, blew his front pass tire, swerved into the guy behind me and both cars ended up in the ditch, the jeep rolling once. Everyone was okay, but after dealing with the police and giving a statement, I was just too jacked up to even think about sleep...so I just drove home.