Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 04-03-2009, 01:24 AM

tufa44 is on a distinguished road
Default still cycling?

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie saltwater aquarist. Just bought a second-hand setup in January. It's a 54 gallon corner tank with overflow but no sump. I have a Rena XP3 canister running from the overflow and an in-tank Tunze skimmer. There is about 40 lb of live rock. The tank came with and still has a maroon clown, a cleaner wrasse, a red flame hawkfish and a blueface angelfish. I sold one queen angelfish because I didn't think it was appropriate for my setup. I also added a purple anemone for my clown. There are assorted inverts and corals also.

My problem is that I still have nitrate problems and diatoms. All the fish, inverts and corals are healthy. Ammonia and nitrites are 0 but I'm still measuring at or just under 10 ppm nitrate and <=0.3 ppm phosphate, pH consistently at 8.5, calcium about 500. Do you think my tank is still cycling or is this a phosphate problem? I am using tapwater but hope to invest in an RO/DI system soon. Thanks!
Old 04-03-2009, 01:32 AM

Rbacchiega is on a distinguished road

when was the last time you cleaned out the canister filter?
I've got so much glue on my pants it looks like a Friday night gone horribly wrong.
Old 04-03-2009, 01:39 AM

Myka will become famous soon enough

Your tank is done cycling. Once you have 0 for ammonia and nitrites it is considered "cycled". What is your salinity at? If you are using a swing arm hydrometer consider taking it in to your LFS to get them to check its accuracy with a refractometer. I say this because both your pH and Calcium are higher than they should be, so I'm wondering if your salinity is higher than you think it is.