Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 04-18-2008, 04:44 AM

Alberta-newb is on a distinguished road
Smile Alberta-newb's 120 build

Hi all, new here and to the hobby For many years (20+!) I've dreamed about setting up a reef tank, finally decided to do it. The hobby has sure changed when I first started looking!

I'm located near Calgary and just started my 120 gallon in the wall build. First order of business was roughing in the opening and building the supports needed. To complicate things further, the tank is built over the stairs leading to the basement..seemed perfect as it was unused space anyway. I welded up the stand out of 1.5" x 3" X 1/8" wall structural steel. The legs go down to the foundation on one side and to the floor joists on the other. Top of the stand is 14 gauge sheetmetal. Everything was painted with drinking water safe industrial epoxy (I'm a painter by trade and we use this stuff for coating the inside of water pumps and piping). I also built and installed a jackpost to help hold all the weight.

Here's the tank installed in the opening:

I painted the back and sides of the tank with a metallic blue urethane followed by a seal coat of the epoxy. The "calfo" overflow runs the full width of the tank and was also painted the same way.

Here's the inside of the overflow. I'm using the "herbie" style overflows through 1.5" bulkheads (emergency overflow in pic)

I'm planning on using a live sand bed and chaeto so I wanted as large a sump as I could fit. I bought an old 42gal tank from my LFS with two 1" bulkheads which will be used for the pump and "fuge" returns. To conserve space I mounted my skimmer externally.

Plumbing: