Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 02-06-2008, 07:50 PM

chris c is on a distinguished road
Default floating particles

Hello, I am new to this forum and I have a question. I have a 280 gallon reef tank with 200lbs of live rock and 60 pounds of sand. I am having a major problem with lots of floating particles in my water. I am handling filtration with 2 8 inch filtration socks that are fed by 2000 gallons an hour from my overflow. I have a bubble master 250 skimmer and a 55W UV clarifier. My sump has a large built in refusium with 50lbs of live sand and macro algae. If anybody can help me out with suggestions on how to solve my water clarity problems, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Chris
Old 02-06-2008, 07:58 PM

michika is on a distinguished road

Can you describe the particulate? Is it actual matter or could it be microbubbles?
Old 02-06-2008, 08:07 PM

Thank you very much for the quick reply. The particles are definitely not micro bubbles but look like very small pices of sand. But the sand in my aquarium is very coarse so I don't think that it would be my sand causing the problem.
Chris
Old 02-06-2008, 08:25 PM

digital-audiophile is on a distinguished road

I have tonnes of particulate in my water, part of having a sand bed and a sleeper goby in my case.

90G : Light - Tek 6xT5 | Skim - EuroReef RS135 | Flow - 2xVortech MP40W | Control - Reef Keeper 2
Old 02-06-2008, 08:31 PM

mark is on a distinguished road

If not sand or micro bubbles then detritus.

Assuming the sock are reasonably fine (am running 100 microns that work)and not overflowing they should eventually get everything.
Old 02-06-2008, 08:34 PM

bassman is on a distinguished road

Atleast you should be happy it's not settling, it's staying in suspension. My tank always has some particulates floating around. It tells me my circulation is good.

What livestock do you have?

230 mixed reef / 230 gal sump/fuge