Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 08-17-2006, 05:42 PM

Squiddy is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone with sump closed inside stand?

This is my first time with a sump and I'm trying to get everything set up nicely. The tank stand I am using is fully enclosed with two doors at the front and with the sump sitting in the bottom of it, I obviously get a lot of moisture inside the stand. I was thinking of putting a couple of fans through to the back, but I was wondering what other people with similar setups do to keep the moisture from building up and destroying the stand. Completely covering the top of the sump seems like an idea to help but wouldn't that reduce the gas exchange?

Old 08-17-2006, 05:46 PM
Good Guy Albert

albert_dao will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to albert_dao

If your overflows are done properly, you shouldn't have any bubbles in the tank. That would cut done on the humidity tremendously.

Here's some links:

http://216.187.96.54/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=26316

http://216.187.96.54/vbulletin/showt...t=25427&page=8 (halfway down the page)
Old 08-17-2006, 06:01 PM

BMW Rider is on a distinguished road

I use computer fans to ventilate the humidity out from my stands and canopys. Use a small 12v power pack to run them.

Ed
60 gallon winter tank for pond fish.
300 gallon pond with waterfall.
Old 08-17-2006, 06:11 PM

reeferaddict is on a distinguished road

If you go to Queale's Electronics in Vic they have a few different sizes of 110V fans. I put a couple on my hood for cooling and they are very quiet, can be variable speed controlled with a simple dimmer switch, and can be amped up to move a lot of air... they are heavy duty and fairly inexpensive too as I remember..