Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > Regional Forums > Alberta > Calgary

Old 05-08-2017, 04:27 PM

RichKlit is on a distinguished road
Default New to the hobby. Few questions

Hello everyone,

Great site!! I'm brand new to the SW reef tank hobby and I just bought a 14 gallon biocube that was set up for SW, and I have a few questions if someone with more knowledge wouldn't mind helping?

1. The tank came with fake rock the guy didn't know what kind but said they were version 2.1. They are kinda purple and look pretty good. My question is can I mix them with live rock? I want to get the whole biodiversity with live rock? Or should it be only live rock or all fake rock? Also where can I get live rock?

2. The tank came with 1 to 1 1/2 inches of sand. Is this enough? Should I take it out and buy new stuff? Or just leave it alone?

3. Once the tank is cycled what should I add first? Fish, shrimp, snails, corals?

4. Should I clean the whole thing inside and out before I start setting it up? If so what should I use to clean it?

Any additional tips would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by RichKlit; 05-08-2017 at 04:32 PM.
Old 05-08-2017, 05:04 PM

Bblinks is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichKlit View Post
Hello everyone,

Great site!! I'm brand new to the SW reef tank hobby and I just bought a 14 gallon biocube that was set up for SW, and I have a few questions if someone with more knowledge wouldn't mind helping?

1. The tank came with fake rock the guy didn't know what kind but said they were version 2.1. They are kinda purple and look pretty good. My question is can I mix them with live rock? I want to get the whole biodiversity with live rock? Or should it be only live rock or all fake rock? Also where can I get live rock?

You can mix them no problem but try to keep it the same style of rocks or else it will look out of place.