Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > Regional Forums > British Columbia > Lower Mainland

Old 04-04-2017, 04:24 PM

Animal-Chin is on a distinguished road
Default Smell your water....

So I recently started a thread about my corals dying right after water changes and I think I've figured it out.

I use an RO filter system to clean my water before adding salt and putting it in my tank. I've been using the same system for 4 years and change my filters out quite regularly even though they hardly ever look dirty.

I use empty 5 gallon blue water jugs to collect the water from the RO system, I then add the salt into the jugs, mix, let sit over night and away I go.

Last week I made 3 jugs, capped them and put them where I store them. I pulled them out 4 days later and popped the cap off to add water and I couldn't believe the smell. CHLORINE! My jugs smelt like a swimming pool! The chlorine in Maple Ridges water is so strong now it was getting through my charcoal filter of the RO unit and because I was capping the jugs it couldn't evaporate. Turns our I was pouring 15 gallons of chlorinated water into my tank.

Best guess is because of the water run off and huge rains in March they are over chlorinating the water to kill any bacteria.

This is more of a heads up for reefers in the Maple Ridge area.
Old 04-04-2017, 04:59 PM

duncangweller is on a distinguished road

Our water stinks in Walnut Grove too. Really quite a strong chlorine smell.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Old 04-04-2017, 10:14 PM

xoticlover is on a distinguished road

I live in Maple Ridge and I havent noticed the Chlorine smell when doing recent water changes. I will make sure to add a little more Prime when I do the next ones.
Old 04-04-2017, 10:15 PM

IronChefItaly is on a distinguished road