Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Polls

Old 03-03-2014, 06:10 PM

AchillesTangBeauty is on a distinguished road
Default GPH?

We have a 270 Gallon Display Tank + 60 Gallon Refuge & 100 gallon sump.. We are currently running 3200GPH through the system using a Reeflo Dart... That works out to changing the water 8 times an hour... Is this too much? What's recommended?

-Mostly Softies.

Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk
Old 03-03-2014, 08:15 PM

FishAreFriendsNotFood is on a distinguished road

I'm fairly new to salt water aquariums (had fresh water for many years) but my understanding is 5 to 10 times the display tank volume through the sump plus an additional 10 to 20 times the display tank volume inside the display tank. Total display tank turn over of 15 to 30 times per hour. For your set up that would be 1,350 to 2,700 gph through the sump and another 2,700 to 5,600 gph inside the display tank. It is best to limit the flow through the fuge to much less than the flow through the sump.
Old 03-03-2014, 09:03 PM

Proteus is on a distinguished road

Here's my thought

I don't employ a refuge or rubble zone. Just a skimmer and sock. So I don't understand having a higher turnover rate than what my skimmer will take up. What's the purpose
Old 03-03-2014, 10:17 PM

Myka will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by AchillesTangBeauty View Post
We have a 270 Gallon Display Tank + 60 Gallon Refuge & 100 gallon sump.. We are currently running 3200GPH through the system using a Reeflo Dart... That works out to changing the water 8 times an hour... Is this too much? What's recommended?

-Mostly Softies.

8x per hour isn't quite accurate, nor is it as simple as you've laid out.