Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 01-04-2016, 01:50 AM

Fin2you is on a distinguished road
Default Fin2you SW adventure

alot of this 1st post on this journal is going to be copy & pasted from my journal on another site.
I like this group's open "journal" forum allowing other members to chime in. I am still learning & I am in no "glass bubble" thinking I know everything about SW tank keeping. I also know I've made a few mistakes & probably should have done a few things differently but hey it's all about the journey!
Please chime in & give me advice, but I hope not to offend anyone by saying I may decide not to take your advice b/c I may have decided to take someone else's! Oh & I reserve my right to change my mind at any time. LOL
Getting so much awesome info & feedback I want to document it so I can remember it all!!! So 1st things 1st.
* tank specs;
Just measured tank hubby when he bought it took the sellers word... It is really 36x20x12=38gal but that's OK.
Red Sea Prizm Deluxe Protein skimmer
Marineland Maxi-jet 400 circulation pump
Eheim Jaeger TruTemp 100W heater
Approx 30lbs Caribbean Aragonite & live Caribbean sand
Stocked with: 2 Bumble bee snails, 1 Margarita snail, Asterina/Micro starfish, Scarlet Reef Hermit Crab, Black & white & a standard Ocellaris clownfish, Yellow Watchman Goby
Rose Bubble tip Anemone, Red Feather duster
Should note almost all my Corals have been privately bought as frags from people with established tanks who need to keep them under control it's easier to spend $5/frag than $30.
Old 01-04-2016, 01:55 AM

Feeding & Suppliments:
* OMEGA 1 Marine Flakes, freeze dried Brine shrimp. 1/8-1/4 tsp each once a day.
* OMEGA 1 frozen Super Carnivore (Not a favorite with the goby & clowns) & Reef Complete cubes. Inject right to Feather Duster & Anemone using a turkey baster some people make jumbo chop sticks too