Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 04-19-2015, 12:14 AM

helimech is on a distinguished road
Default Bigger is better right?

So after having a 29 Gal Biocube for a few months, I've decided that I'm going to push my budget and my space and set up a 75 Gal display with a 50 Gal tank to act as a sump and perhaps refugium as well.

I'm still new to this, so feel free to correct or comment!

So far I have The display and sump tanks, just finished building the main support platform for the stand, and an MP-40.

Seems I still need a few things.

I picked up some dry rock (approx 35 lbs)
I have some rock in my biocube, but have to decide if I will transfer it to the new tank.
And I will be picking up a bunch of live rock from a fellow Canreefer next weekend.

I still need to decide if I will use a skimmer or not (leaning toward yes)
I still need to get an appropriate size pump for the return to tank. (not quite sure what size I need at there will be a head of approx 4 feet.)
Still need to "build" the sump (aka put in deviders, etc.)

I'm not quite set on what livestock I'm gonna have, but I'd even just be happy with my shrimp and two Chromis'. I'm actually more intersted in the softies! That's what I need more space for!
Old 04-19-2015, 01:38 AM
Darth Moderator

WarDog will become famous soon enough

Sounds like a good start! I'd get a skimmer rated for 150 to 200 gallons, as I'm sure one day you will find some LPS and sps making their way into your tank! Also the Eheim 1262 would be a good reliable pump for your set up. Looking forward to your build and the pictures to follow! Welcome to Canreef!
Old 04-19-2015, 04:20 AM
No Cookies

Dearth is on a distinguished road

As Wardog stated a skimmer is well worth the investment yes it can be costly but in the long run it will give you piece of mind