Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 10-13-2006, 05:44 AM

marcingo is on a distinguished road
Default Setting traps for crabs

I'm pretty new to reef keeping and this site has been invaluable teaching me so much. Would like to thank everyone.

I set up my 10 gallon nano 2 months ago with a bunch of live rock. About a week ago I bought 9 more pounds of live rock from someone's personal tank and I have now noticed a black and white striped crab in the rock. I've only seen him maybe twice since hes always hiding. Now I know crabs are bad things to have in a reef so I'm wondering what would be the best way to trap him and get him out of the tank. I heard lots of people put food in a glass and hope to catch the crabs at night. Is there any other effective method any of you guys have used?

Thanks again.
Old 10-13-2006, 06:11 AM

kwirky is on a distinguished road

I think they're innocent until proven guilty... there are SO many undocumented crab species, that you can't predict how it'll behave by looking at it.

but that's my opinion.

I actually found a crab hitchhiker that I quite like on my own rock. It's exactly like an emerald crab, yet black. it's behaved himself quite nicely for a month now.
Old 10-13-2006, 06:35 AM

niloc16 is on a distinguished road

a very loose way of determining whether it is good or bad is by examining the pinchers, if they are large and rugged and can rip through something more than likely they are bad, if the pinchers are small and hairy than possibly they are safe. but like i say it is a loose determination

my tank setup
Old 10-13-2006, 02:25 PM
Just a guy..

Aquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the rough