Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > Buy/Sell/Trade > Buy/Sell/Trade (Aquatics livestock related only)

Old 09-11-2008, 05:06 PM

Der_Iron_Chef is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Der_Iron_Chef
Default Livestock/rock Sale Question

So, I'm going to be putting most of my livestock (fish, corals, inverts, rock) up for sale, but I'm wondering what people do if corals are firmly attached to big pieces of live rock? For example, I have a beautiful green Toadstool (sarcophyton sp.) that's firmly rooted to a giant piece of rock. What if someone wants the coral, but doesn't want to pay $50 for the rock as well? Do I rip it off? *cringes*

Thanks in advance...I've had lots of experience buying corals, but not very much selling....en masse, at least.

10G Nano * 10G Sump * Deltec MCE 600 Skimmer * JBL Viper 150w MH * Zeovit * Vortech MP40W

Millions long for immortality who do not know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon. ~S. Ertz

Old 09-11-2008, 05:17 PM

scuglass is on a distinguished road

Possibly try and chissle off a small piece of the rock?

I know I wouldnt have room for anything with large rocks attatched without rearanging everything....

Cant wait to see what you have to let go :P Ill be trolling all day to get first dibs
Old 09-11-2008, 05:26 PM
Staff

christyf5 is on a distinguished road

Yeah, I'd either chisel it or hold out for a better buyer. Personally I'd rather have something like that mounted anyway. Leathers can be such a PITA to mount sometimes.

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Old 09-11-2008, 05:35 PM

ponokareefer is on a distinguished road

Depending on the coral and the rock, I may be interested. Do you have any pictures of it? I'd agree that chiselling the rock around the toadstool would be better than ripping it off.
Old 09-11-2008, 06:46 PM