Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:46 PM
Craigdillman's Avatar
Craigdillman Craigdillman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 867
Craigdillman is on a distinguished road
Default RO Water Shut off saftey

Hey guys,

Just cleaning up a mini RO water leak that could have been much more.

My Ro machine is fed into 2 brute blue barrels and stopped using a float valve... you can see where this is going.... float valve failed and blue barrel slowly over filled dumping probably 5-10 gallon of water on the floor before I noticed. Never had issues before

Just wondering what everyone does to add redundancy to the system? Is there an electronic eye float valve kinda like the tunze has that can directly shut the water off that wouldn't fail like a float valve ? Is there a way to have two float switches into the RO machine

I know I can do a leak detection one with a direct water shut off but id rather stop the water in the barrel before it starts to leak

What does everyone else do?

Thanks
__________________
Current tank---125 gallon mixed reef 60 gallon sump, Reef octopus nw200 skimmer, Rapid LEDs, Maxspec gyre, Mp10s, Fuge, Biweekly 20% WC, QT everything
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2018, 06:14 PM
smokinreefer's Avatar
smokinreefer smokinreefer is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: burnaby,bc,canada
Posts: 1,419
smokinreefer is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to smokinreefer
Default

Damn. I had the exact same thing happen!

Do you use a controller? I am using a Neptune now (first time using a controller).

Thinking will need 2 optical sensors and a solenoid.
Optical sensor 1 will be a low water sensor so it will trigger the solenoid to open and fill the tub until new RO/DI fills to the top and reaches Optical sensor 2 which in turn will trigger the solenoid to close.

Voila.
__________________
- S H A O -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018, 06:32 PM
Craigdillman's Avatar
Craigdillman Craigdillman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 867
Craigdillman is on a distinguished road
Default

I do have a Neptune but the tank is upstairs and the RO machine and water change system is in the basement and I pump the water upstairs
__________________
Current tank---125 gallon mixed reef 60 gallon sump, Reef octopus nw200 skimmer, Rapid LEDs, Maxspec gyre, Mp10s, Fuge, Biweekly 20% WC, QT everything
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2018, 03:56 AM
Ace Storman Ace Storman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lake Country, BC
Posts: 39
Ace Storman is on a distinguished road
Default fail safe RODI...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigdillman View Post
I do have a Neptune but the tank is upstairs and the RO machine and water change system is in the basement and I pump the water upstairs
I set my system so that the RODI is on the Neptune Apex power bar. I put 2 float switches in the RO reservoir tank (2nd one for redundancy). Programmed Apex so that if one or both switches is closed, it powers off the RODI unit. No power = no more water production. Works well and provides some fail safe redundancy. I have a fresh water tank upstairs, joined a couple of BLUE USB 3 cables together and daisy chained the Apex Neptune EB8 power bars together using the Aquabus ports. I control all my main lights, moon lights, canister filter, CO2 solenoid valve and main water pump.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2018, 04:51 AM
Craigdillman's Avatar
Craigdillman Craigdillman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 867
Craigdillman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Storman View Post
I set my system so that the RODI is on the Neptune Apex power bar. I put 2 float switches in the RO reservoir tank (2nd one for redundancy). Programmed Apex so that if one or both switches is closed, it powers off the RODI unit. No power = no more water production. Works well and provides some fail safe redundancy. I have a fresh water tank upstairs, joined a couple of BLUE USB 3 cables together and daisy chained the Apex Neptune EB8 power bars together using the Aquabus ports. I control all my main lights, moon lights, canister filter, CO2 solenoid valve and main water pump.

Yea that seems ideal but my tank is too far from where my RO set up is
__________________
Current tank---125 gallon mixed reef 60 gallon sump, Reef octopus nw200 skimmer, Rapid LEDs, Maxspec gyre, Mp10s, Fuge, Biweekly 20% WC, QT everything
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2018, 04:52 AM
Craigdillman's Avatar
Craigdillman Craigdillman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 867
Craigdillman is on a distinguished road
Default

https://www.reefsupplies.ca/online-s...ller-8555.html


Was thinking something like this but it seems stiff for 233$ but kinda the idea I'm looking for
__________________
Current tank---125 gallon mixed reef 60 gallon sump, Reef octopus nw200 skimmer, Rapid LEDs, Maxspec gyre, Mp10s, Fuge, Biweekly 20% WC, QT everything
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2018, 06:31 AM
Frogger's Avatar
Frogger Frogger is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 515
Frogger is on a distinguished road
Default

I use high tech. I put my 5 gallon bucket in the sink and set a timer for 50 minutes. If I forget it overflows into the sink.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2018, 07:49 AM
TimT's Avatar
TimT TimT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 600
TimT is on a distinguished road
Default

Except for the one time the bucket sits on top of the drain... people I know had a $30,000 flood claim due to that.
__________________
www.oceanfreshaquarium.com/foz-down.html - Foz Down - an easy way to eliminate algae outbreaks caused by Phosphate and bring back the fun of reef keeping.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2018, 05:37 AM
Cujo#31's Avatar
Cujo#31 Cujo#31 is offline
Proofed by Wheelman
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chilliwack
Posts: 204
Cujo#31 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have yet to see a float valve shut off that works for any longer than a month. They are a waste of time and money. Like has been said before, set a timer. Itís way more reliable than anything else.
__________________
Cheers
Gary
604-319-0317
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2018, 04:41 PM
brotherd brotherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 456
brotherd is on a distinguished road
Default

Check this out. Genesis Reef Systems | Automated Aquarium Water Handling Systems
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.