Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 12-06-2012, 03:05 AM
ChizerBunoi

Default Chizer & Bunoi 67 gallon

Chizer and Bunoi are my 8 year clownfish. They are a mated pair. Chizer is the female and Bunoi is the male. They are also the names of my two yorkies but that's another story.

Some of you might have seen their last home? They quickly ran out of room and got evicted. They are now moving into the pent house.

Initially I was planning to put this build in my basement but with all the dust down there, I thought it would be nice to downsize from my current 90 gallon tank and go with a nice setup in my living room. Life is also very busy right now so I decided to sell off all of my fish tanks and keep only the reef.

The plan is to go full zeovit on this setup as 90 percent of my corals are SPS. I also plan to use local Calgary tap water. I have been reefing for over 2 years and never had any issue using tap water, so lets see what happens. I have yet to have any weird parameter issues due to TDS or nitrates/phosphates. How long before I get desperate and cave on an RO setup.

Also, I will not add any other fish to this tank. Just the two brats and that's all.

Equipment
  • Tank: 67 gallon tank (48" x 18" x 18") with external overflow (4 x 1" holes) and one piece acrylic on back side
  • Plumbing: Herbie setup with the two returns, will incorporate ball valves, gate valve, check valve, unions and maybe filter sock
  • Light: TEK 6 bulb T5HO
  • Return Pump: Eheim 1262
  • Protein Skimmer: Bubble Magus NAC5E HOB (what I have) rated for 80G - 120G, plans to upgrade in the future
  • Zeovit reactor: to be purchased
  • Heater: Eheim Jager 300W
  • ATO: Tunze Osmolator 3155
  • Controller: Digital Aquatics Reef Keeper Lite
  • Wave Movement: 4 x VorTech MP10 (still to purchase one)
  • Sump: 20 gallon tank with no baffles
  • Dosing: DIY 2 part
  • Salt: IO Reef Crystals

Stand