Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:37 AM
Timbits Timbits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 249
Timbits is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone running a wp-25 in a 40 breeder?

So I just set up my wp-10 in my little 40 breeder and it seems so weak! After reading a bunch of reviews saying how strong this little pump is I thought one would do the trick. I have it on the left side smack in the center on else mode and S1 and my Xenia and frogspawn on the other side of the tank is barely moving.

Is my pump defective? Lol I saw a youtube video of a wp-10 in a 4 FT tank creating huge waves and my waves are not even close to that...

Anyone running a wp-25 in a 40 breeder? Is it too strong? If you have a 40 breeder, what are you using for flow? Wondering what to do now as I thought my wp-10 would be enough flow......

Last edited by Timbits; 04-04-2014 at 02:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2014, 03:07 AM
Adrenaline101 Adrenaline101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 36
Adrenaline101 is on a distinguished road
Default

try turning it onto W2 and have the speed mode of S1. See if in wave pulse mode it moves them.
I have 2 wp-25's in a 100G and they blow sand around unless pointed just right
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2014, 03:13 AM
Wretch Wretch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 402
Wretch is on a distinguished road
Default

I am using 2 WP10s in my 54g corner.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2014, 04:47 AM
Timbits Timbits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 249
Timbits is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wretch View Post
I am using 2 WP10s in my 54g corner.
Hi Wretch,

Can you give a little more info on your setup? What are the dimensions of your tank? Where did you position your wp-10s. How do you like them? Is it enough flow or too strong. Do you have it on max? Did you try just turning one on? Was it too weak? Thx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2014, 04:49 AM
Timbits Timbits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 249
Timbits is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrenaline101 View Post
try turning it onto W2 and have the speed mode of S1. See if in wave pulse mode it moves them.
I have 2 wp-25's in a 100G and they blow sand around unless pointed just right
Hmm didn't move much. I went to w1 and cranked the knob to max and it started to move a little but not much

Do u have your wp25 in max mode? Do u think 1 wp25 is too much for a 40 breeder?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2014, 06:20 AM
nrosdal nrosdal is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kelowna, bc
Posts: 525
nrosdal is on a distinguished road
Default

the wp10 is fairly small i would recommend at least 2 for a 40g tank or 1 wp10 with 1 wp25. The 25 might be a bit much but with a variable power supply or a dual controller you could dial it back a bit.
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2014, 07:41 AM
duncangweller's Avatar
duncangweller duncangweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 681
duncangweller is on a distinguished road
Default

I have two wp-25 in a 93 cube and you could surf on the waves.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2014, 08:17 AM
Tn23's Avatar
Tn23 Tn23 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 296
Tn23 is on a distinguished road
Default

WP25 in my 30G and it blows waves right off the top. Is the power supply set correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:18 PM
makana makana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 212
makana is on a distinguished road
Default

The knob is for setting the frequency of the wave to match the length of the tank. You need to dial the knob in to get the best wave in your tank. It is not something you crank to the max.

My wp10 is in a jbj cube and on else mode it is too strong for xenia. Everything else seems to be ok but the xenia has shrivled up and mostly died off since I added the pump.

I have a wp25 in my 72g bow and in else mode it was too strong for the softies. The undertow across the front of the tank was so strong it was pulling the mushrooms off the rocks. The GSP would not open. I have it dialed in on W1 now and the undertow is strong but not as constant and the softies are doing great.
__________________
29g JBJ nano cube, 150w MH, JBJ chiller, eshops skimmer, K1.

Livestock: clown fish, chromis, purple firefish, t. crocea, peppermint shrimp.

Corals: pulsing xenia, open brain, toadstool, maze brain, candy cane, GSP.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:32 PM
Wretch Wretch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 402
Wretch is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbits View Post
Hi Wretch,

Can you give a little more info on your setup? What are the dimensions of your tank? Where did you position your wp-10s. How do you like them? Is it enough flow or too strong. Do you have it on max? Did you try just turning one on? Was it too weak? Thx
My tank is a quarter circle. Its got two 27" sides and a 30" something bowfront. I have one wp10 on each 27" side aimed straight down the glass into to bowfront. My return blow straight down the middle of my tank. I never tried just one. I did have them on max but I have backed them off a little now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.