Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > Other > Lounge

Old 04-30-2009, 07:25 PM

my2rotties is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to my2rotties Send a message via Yahoo to my2rotties
Default Getting my well shocked

Any one in the Calgary and surrounding areas know of a company that does this service. I am noticing a smell from my hot water, and I was told it is due to a bacteria in the well water. I do not know what companies do this service and feel it needs to get done ASAP. I also don't know if I should wait until after the spring thaw, since there will be a whole bunch of water going into all the water tables in the next month or two.

I do not have much knowledge about all this and any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a newbie living out in the sticks and did not get a guide for things of this matter. I just know to get the septic tank pumped out one or two times a year...
Old 04-30-2009, 08:00 PM

hillegom is on a distinguished road

I have never had a well, so cannot comment. But I had a septic tank for 30 years. During that time, I only had it pumped out 3 times. Two that I remember, but that seemed low, so 3 it is.
If the septic tank is not overworked, ie proper size tank for the occupants, and you do not overload it, it should run fine. To me even once a year seems very high.
Old 04-30-2009, 08:16 PM

Hahhaaa the company that cleans septic tanks said once a year... there are only two of us living in the house as well. When we bought the house part of the inspection was to have the septic system looked at by a professional. You do what they they tell you to do... I knew someone that had their septic tank back up into the basement. It was really nasty. When I do water changes I do let about 50-90g of water go into the septic tank... I make sure nobody is showering or I am doing laundry that particular day.