Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 08-22-2008, 11:40 PM

jus68 is on a distinguished road
Question Adopting a used SW tank

I'm a newbie and I'm sooo excited as I'm 2 weeks away from getting a used SW tank.

It has a 75G Display with 25G Sump and a small refugium.

I've spoken with several staff from LFS and I'm getting different opinions regarding how to move the tank and its contents (live rock & water) and now more confuse then ever and would love some feedback on this.

Questions:

Should I keep the preexisting water or make new water? Should I cycle the tank all over again? There are 50lbs of live rock and some live sand, should I keep the live sand? (i've been told it could be contaminated) What are things I should look for before and after moving the tank? Any others tips...

Thanks in advance for your time and comments.
Alex
Old 08-23-2008, 12:13 AM

ferret is on a distinguished road

Mostlikely I will replace 50% of water at least and put a few snails + one damsel fish as trial to test the water condition and wait for a few weeks, when nothing happen then you may keep the live rocks and sand as to save some money for the future addition. ( This suggestion is only good for FOWLR only not reef tank )
Old 08-23-2008, 12:24 AM

Midknight is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Midknight Send a message via Yahoo to Midknight

Hey Alex, The first thing to do is... Hey everybody, I moving a tank. free beer for those that help.
Then I would say when do you need the help.

But really, where are you moving it from and too?
How deep is the sandbed? A good rinse would be Ok if it not too deep.
Then borrow lots of buckets and move the live rock in the water you want to keep.
Also is there any livestock or corals that need to be dealt with?
Hopes this helps.
Old 08-23-2008, 12:46 AM

wil0311 is on a distinguished road