PDA

View Full Version : comparing skimmers

Calgarynewtankguy
01-11-2013, 12:44 AM
I have a 150 Gal display and 40 gal sump/refugium. I was running a red sea C skim 1200 that i bought used and now it doesnt seem to be able to main tain a good skim. have to play with it to even get it to bubble to the top of the cup. I am fairly new to this hobby. I am looking at 2 skimmers to replace it and wanted to hear some experience from both they are:

Reef Life support R8

Super reef octopus 2000 internal

both are internal skimmers but I am too new to decide which would work better for me. any thoughts?

RDNanoGuy
01-11-2013, 03:50 AM
If you're willing to spend $500 on the RLSS then i would look at the SRO 3000 instead of the 2000.

That said, i love my SRO 3000 EXT. Great build quality, excellent pump, easy to adjust and very consistent. If you get neck cleaner too it works even better. Mine pulls about 2 litre's of black goo every week and i haven't had to fiddle with it in over 2 months.

The internal SRO's work best in 6" of water though so you may need to make a little stand for it if your sump level is too deep.

claymax
01-11-2013, 04:46 AM
or you could wait until reef octopus comes out with their dc line of skimmers, they use the same pump as the rlss and will hopefully be a bit cheaper. the air draw numbers on those pumps are sick!

Calgarynewtankguy
01-11-2013, 03:21 PM
Time is going to be a problem. My water condition is starting to reflect the poor skimming I have right now. So the sooner the better. My wife is going to do water changes until I can get the skimmer on place.

I will definitely look into the SRO 3000 but I have to go with an internal model do to space issues.

reefwars
01-11-2013, 03:49 PM
i have one r8-i left in stock i cant keep these skimmers in the store they sell the minute the land , reef octopuss is a good choice as well.

skimmz has a leopard series which is also dc and run the same pumps as R-O and rlss

Calgarynewtankguy