PDA

View Full Version : Torch not doing so well?


Kgrizzle
01-31-2012, 02:08 AM
I have pictures of my torch from 2 weeks ago and now... He's been alot smaller since I stopped feeding cyclopeeze and started feeding with Marie snow and mysis... My ph is 8.0 ni 0 na0 am0 sal1.026... Not sure of my calcium levels but would this be causing that?

The heads that are dead were already dying when I was given them...was given all my coral from the person I got my rock from cause he was moving and couldn't bring them

lpsreefer
01-31-2012, 02:51 AM
Mine does that when my bulbs are about to go. They always let me know when it's time to change my bulbs.

Kgrizzle
01-31-2012, 03:23 AM
Ok... I kida Lied a little and that makes complete sense... I only have 2 lights right now I'm waiting for the second set from another member in here in the next week then I'll repost a picture. What do u suggest as a good light cycle?... I also noticed during feeding that the mysis would seem to get away from the torch and I'm afraid it might not be eating cause the cyclopeeze are easier to eat so perhaps it's not getting enough food

BMahura
01-31-2012, 03:39 AM
You shouldnt have to worry about them not taking food. mine have doubeled in size in the past 6 months an i have never fed them yet so i wouldnt worry about them not eating

reefwars
01-31-2012, 04:43 AM
i feed mine every now and then but it grows fine either way,once every week or two ill target feed mysis to any corals that will accept it.

i would move it to another location and see if that helps.

mine does it from time to time as most lps do, if it stays like this for more than a couple days or starts to melt then you may have an issue.

should really be testing for alk,cal,mg though if you want to raise corals:) cheers

sumpfinfishe
02-01-2012, 12:39 AM
If flow has increased or decreased that too would also have an effect on polyp extension, lighting would have an effect as mentioned.

Kgrizzle
02-01-2012, 04:16 AM
What is ment by melt?

And I thought about the flow tonight and moved my power head so it put a little more on it... I have a 550 gph for a 29g is that suffice?