PDA

View Full Version : Help: New to SW

Beano1169
07-23-2011, 06:26 AM
Hi I'm new to the salt water game, I have experiance with Fresh but I have become bored and want to start something new and exciting.
I have some knowledge and research on Sw tanks and are I am continuing to expand on that. It is possible that I will be obtaining a 40g tank drilled in both back corners with overflows. I may also be getting a 29g which i will turn into a sump from some DIY vids. In the mean time I have a 15g non drilled, T8 lighting Fw tank taht i might try to start a Nano in, any suggestions on how to go about converting this tank into SW. And if anyone is selling parts for a 40g SW setup I would like to hear from you on that matter. Thanks for your time.:mrgreen:

Money pit
07-23-2011, 10:13 AM
Welcome to Canreef
If you keep your eye on the buy/sell section, pretty much anything you need will eventually come up for sale. Good luck and enjoy.

abcha0s
07-23-2011, 02:06 PM
Welcome to this awesome hobby that we share. Read through some of the build threads / tank journals here. There's lots of great information buried in them.

If you just want to chat about some of your ideas, feel free to come for a coffee. I'd be happy to walk you through my setup.

- Brad

FishyFishy!
07-23-2011, 02:31 PM
On a tank that size, without being drilled, I would recommend an Aquaclear 110 or 70, modded into a refuge. I have a small 10 gallon running on a aquaclear 110, with a heater, floss, a deep sand bed, live rock rubble, and then cheato with a fuge light.

That combined with a good T5HO or Metal halide light would work awesome.

You are more than welcome to swing by and have a look at the setup. I have had many different things growing on that setup. Take a look at my build thread located here:

http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=71793

I also have an extra AC70 that I could give you to start out. Already modded for a fuge, and some cheato trimmings if you need it.