PDA

View Full Version : How many people have had a tank crash

Palmer
03-16-2010, 01:34 AM
Okay so I am new to saltwater and reefing but I read alot about tanks crashing. I searched and didn't see a poll on this. I am wondering if this happens to everyone at one time or another or just how many people this has happened to. Also assuming the more tanks you have (i.e. MTS) the greater likelyhood of a problem I would like to include # of total tanks at the time as part of the poll.

Lets define a crash as a loss of at least 50 % of life in the tank.

BTW- My tank is fine at the moment I am just curious!

Palmer

christyf5
03-16-2010, 01:40 AM
Just one tank. In 8 years, I've had two crashes due to heat (one with chiller (blown fuse), one without), one due to cold (moving episode). Those are just the ones I remember. Frankly I'm surprised I'm still here :razz:

marie
03-16-2010, 01:49 AM
I have never had what I would consider a tank crash (*knock on wood*)

Lance
03-16-2010, 01:51 AM
I have never had what I would consider a tank crash (*knock on wood*)

ditto

PoonTang
03-16-2010, 01:52 AM
I have had 1. Due to a blown GFI while I was away for 3 days. My god what a smell !!!

Flash
03-16-2010, 01:56 AM
does a stressed out tank and losing all fish count..?! lol! not a good month!

mark
03-16-2010, 02:07 AM
Once, basically lost all my SPS (here (http://canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=57979)). Had been running a mixed tank, SPS/LPS/softies/zoas/shrooms and a whack of GSP leaning towards a little chemical warfare action in the water column.

kien
03-16-2010, 02:40 AM
I voted for 1 tank crash but then I read your actual post and notice your note about 50% loss of life as consider a crash.. Well if thats
the case then I've definitely had more than one! :(