PDA

View Full Version : floating particles

chris c
02-06-2008, 07:50 PM
Hello, I am new to this forum and I have a question. I have a 280 gallon reef tank with 200lbs of live rock and 60 pounds of sand. I am having a major problem with lots of floating particles in my water. I am handling filtration with 2 8 inch filtration socks that are fed by 2000 gallons an hour from my overflow. I have a bubble master 250 skimmer and a 55W UV clarifier. My sump has a large built in refusium with 50lbs of live sand and macro algae. If anybody can help me out with suggestions on how to solve my water clarity problems, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Chris

michika
02-06-2008, 07:58 PM
Can you describe the particulate? Is it actual matter or could it be microbubbles?

chris c
02-06-2008, 08:07 PM
Thank you very much for the quick reply. The particles are definitely not micro bubbles but look like very small pices of sand. But the sand in my aquarium is very coarse so I don't think that it would be my sand causing the problem.
Chris

digital-audiophile
02-06-2008, 08:25 PM
I have tonnes of particulate in my water, part of having a sand bed and a sleeper goby in my case.

mark
02-06-2008, 08:31 PM
If not sand or micro bubbles then detritus.

Assuming the sock are reasonably fine (am running 100 microns that work)and not overflowing they should eventually get everything.

bassman
02-06-2008, 08:34 PM
Atleast you should be happy it's not settling, it's staying in suspension. My tank always has some particulates floating around. It tells me my circulation is good.

What livestock do you have?

wickedfrags
02-06-2008, 08:35 PM
I have a very similar system also pulling 2000GPH through my 4' sump, and with an external skimmer. The 100 micron bags I use do a great job and keep the water crystal clear.

naesco
02-06-2008, 11:11 PM