PDA

View Full Version : Would you take coral from a tank that had ich?

mark
11-19-2007, 10:48 PM
Want to make room in the tank by removing some frags but had an outbreak of ich awhile back. If I posted them up would disclose that had the outbreak but wondering if anyone would be interested.

(I know that corals don't host ich but figure there might be a chance the tomont attached to the substrate the frag is mounted on).

Zoaelite
11-19-2007, 11:06 PM
Personaly I would have no problem with it. From experience with fresh water (Because I'm fairly new to salt) I know that although ich can be spread through a system I believe it's how well the system is doing. For example if I had a 10g feeder tank with 70 fish in it ich would EXPLODE if i introduced it but in a 105g that has matured and has healthy inhabitants the chance of spreading is slim to none.

Levi

BC564
11-19-2007, 11:25 PM
yeah I agree.....so if you need help getting rid of some...let me know...I will definately help you out....lol

Chaloupa
11-19-2007, 11:58 PM
all you have to do is quarantine the new corals for a few weeks and there would be no ich to worry about, so yes, I would take corals from an ich tank

Samw
11-20-2007, 12:14 AM
I've never had a problem with ick except for when I first started my reef tank and didn't have enough oxygenation as I used only powerheads. Then, ick killed my fish fairly quickly. Nowadays, I get ick only once in a while for various reasons (new fish or overdosing some additive), but the fish fight it off on their own (even without the UV running). So I have no fear of taking corals nor fish from a tank with ick. I don't recall ever losing a saltwater fish to ick after my first few months of reefkeeping.

super7
11-20-2007, 12:41 AM