PDA

View Full Version : Tunze Protein Skimmers

mpleleaf
10-05-2007, 09:31 PM
I'm doing research for the purchase of a new skimmer ($500-800 approx.)and came across the Tunze line of skimmers. I never heard of them having skimmers before and was wondering if anybody could give a review of them or any valuable info, good or bad! Also, this will be going on a system between 200-250 gal. located in a family room. Sump will be located under cabinet, so chime in with your thoughts on a quiet skimmer going roughly on this info!

danny zubot
10-06-2007, 04:56 AM
Quiet skimmer? Whats that?

I have no experience with Tunze skimmers but ASM are easy to use, clean, tweek etc. Reasonalbly priced too IMO.

Slick Fork
10-06-2007, 05:58 AM
I have the Tunze 9010 on my system (100 gallon display, 40ish gallon sump). I absolutely love it, very quiet and easy to use and pulls a good amount of skimmate as well. You can use it in-tank or in the sump. Very energy efficient and a small footprint as well.

I believe "Doug" did a formal review of his 9010. There's also a ton of info on them at Reef Central.

fkshiu
10-06-2007, 06:13 AM
I've got one of the older Tunze skimmer models (240/1) on my 165 gallon system. It's essentially a bigger version of the current 9210 model.

http://www.jlaquatics.com/phpstore/store_pages/details/skimmers.php?product_ID=tz-ps9210

It is quiet for a skimmer. Quieter than my old Euroreef CS6-2 with a Sedra meshmodded needlewheel and skims as well as the ER.

Tunze takes an entirely different approach to skimmers than what most people are used to seeing - small and efficient. The Tunze probably takes up less than half the room of the ER and uses less electricity. It's probably not the skimmer for someone who wants to skim the beejesus out of their system, but it is a quiet and efficient little skimmer that gets the job done.

Tunze has a newer line of skimmers (9010, 9015, 9020) as well.

Borderjumper
10-06-2007, 06:34 AM