PDA

View Full Version : Tank Record Keeping

BMW Rider
04-02-2006, 11:05 PM
I'm interested in what others are keeping in the way of logs or records of their maintenance and inhabitants. Do you record everything down to the most minute detail, or do you have only a vague reccollection that you've done some maintenance sometime recently.

Also, if you do keep a log, how do you keep it? Is it just a written log, spreadsheet, or dedicated software?

Ruth
04-02-2006, 11:17 PM
I'm not very good at keeping a record of livestock additions/losses and I should be particularly with coral as I can never remember the names of them. Most of my fish I remember approx. when I added them and also if I lose any - which thankfully has been very few after I figured out that my SOB dottyback was chasing my gobies into the carpet anemone.
Water params I test at least once a month and record my readings on a simple table in Word. I test for Ca. Alk/DKH, magnesium and phosphates unless I see a problem and then I might also test for nitrates, nitrites and very rarely ammonia unless I am getting a nitrite reading of some kind. On occasion I test for Iodine and Strontium. I use all Salifert tests with the exeption of Phosphates which I use I Hanna colorimeter for and calcium which I use a pinpoint calcium monitor for. I do test each new bucket of salt that I open but do not record the readings.

Johnny Reefer
04-03-2006, 03:55 AM
Mostly water params.
Also livestock additions/losses, price, where/when bought, size.
Diseases/abnormalities. Medications/attempts to correct.
Major changes, upgrades, repairs.
Maintenance? Not really. I record additives dosed in the water params spreadsheet. Otherwise, that's it.

I do this for FW and SW.

Cheers:smile:,

hawaiiguy
04-03-2006, 04:02 AM