PDA

View Full Version : How do you charge for frags?

SoloSK71
02-05-2017, 06:38 PM
A couple of threads on Reef Central and here made me wonder. How do you determine what do you charge for the frags that you sell?

Charles

SoloSK71
02-05-2017, 06:49 PM
I personally sell frags at a price that helps me recovery some of the costs for supplies, food, chemicals, etc.

I don't know what I will do when some of the more expensive ones are ready to frag.

Charles

somafish
02-05-2017, 07:10 PM
If I bought it from a retailer, I try to make it a point not to sell what I payed. Im a hobbyist so I have no right to ask those prices. I bought a Jawbreaker for $550, I sell them for $300-350 depending on color. If I bought it from a fellow hobbyist I don't mind keeping it that price.

Something to keep in mind for higher priced corals from vendors is its not like they are price gouging. Chances are they payed a pretty penny to get it into Canada, they have their overhead costs and if it is rare why wouldn't you charge a premium

SoloSK71
02-05-2017, 08:08 PM
I am not questioning the retailer pricing, I am asking about people who buy these ultra high end frags and then have 5, 10, 15 frags after a year or two and how they price them.

I bought a 1" frag of RR Kush for $200, but when it gets to a size that I feel comfortable getting some frags from it, I don't think I will sell them for more than $40 or so. That recovers some of my costs, gets some beautiful frags in other peoples tanks who might never have gotten something like this.

Similarly, I bought a colony of green trumpets (call them toxic or nuclear, the naming has been some mixed no on can really tell any more) for about $100 for something like 60 to 80 heads. I sold those frags for $5 per frag (not per head) to get the colony to a size that would fit in the tank I had at the time.

Charles

DKoKoMan
02-05-2017, 09:18 PM