Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 02-23-2013, 04:20 AM

mrhasan is on a distinguished road
Default Soda ash vs bicarbonate for alk dosing

So I am a bit confused whether to use soda ash or bicarbonate for dosing. Read that soda ash slightly increases the ph while bicarbonate slightly decreases the ph. Mine stays around 8.0 to 8.2. Is a bit higher pH better than bit lower pH?

Advice please

You wouldn't want to see my tank. I don't use fancy equipment and I am a noob
Old 02-23-2013, 04:25 AM

daniella3d is on a distinguished road

I would use the soda hash. My Ph is about the same as yours and I use the BRS soda hash because I don't want my PH any lower than 8 if possible.
Old 02-23-2013, 04:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniella3d View Post
I would use the soda hash. My Ph is about the same as yours and I use the BRS soda hash because I don't want my PH any lower than 8 if possible.
Yah that's what I was thinking too since I would prefer my pH to be above 8 instead of being below 8. Getting it from BRS is not possible for me so I will search local or else I will order that from RA. Thanks for the input

Old 02-23-2013, 05:30 AM
Gold Member

lastlight has a spectacular aura aboutlastlight has a spectacular aura aboutlastlight has a spectacular aura about

Agree about the soda ash. The majority of BRS users go with it rather than the bicarbonate.
Old 02-23-2013, 05:38 AM
On Hiatus

gregzz4 will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhasan View Post
I will search local or else I will order that from RA
Make your own from baking soda

Courtesy of Randy;