Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 07-11-2013, 03:15 PM

michika is on a distinguished road
Default Dosing - Concentrating your Suppliments

I'm curious, and I'm relatively new to dosing, so I wanted to pick the collective Canreef brain if I can please.

Do any of you concentrate your suppliments, e.g. mix them stronger then the recommended instructions? If so, why, how, and what products are you using?

Here is my issue in a nut shell I have a lot of water volume, it takes a lot of product and RO/DI water to move the proverbial needle on things like Mg. and Alkalinity.

E.g. It takes me 4.5g of MG suppliments + RO/DI to move my tank by 50ppm. Its a lot of freshwater to be adding and the volume just keeps ticking up as my clams grow and the SPS I have is starting to really uptake them elements in my water.

I want to be able to safely dose my tank stronger additives, but am looking for some guidance and to hear the experience of others'.
Old 07-11-2013, 03:22 PM
acanthastrea freak

Skimmerking is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Skimmerking Send a message via MSN to Skimmerking

Catherine why not just use a cal RX for now. I see your point in adding all this extra water. But if you are evaporating then this would be good. What about using KALK for now to you evaporation. Are you at the limit already for Kalk and evaporation.
Old 07-11-2013, 03:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skimmer King View Post
Catherine why not just use a cal RX for now. I see your point in adding all this extra water. But if you are evaporating then this would be good. What about using KALK for now to you evaporation. Are you at the limit already for Kalk and evaporation.
Because the biggest culprit is Mg.