Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-04-2018, 07:03 PM
DorySaid DorySaid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Calgary
Posts: 45
DorySaid is on a distinguished road
Default

It's definitely bacteria. I seen it before in my holding tanks while setting up my current display.
I believe the actual color of that slime is originally translucent but probably with all the gunk running through, gives it a brownish tinge.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-05-2018, 09:47 AM
DKoKoMan's Avatar
DKoKoMan DKoKoMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,092
DKoKoMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DorySaid View Post
It's definitely bacteria. I seen it before in my holding tanks while setting up my current display.
I believe the actual color of that slime is originally translucent but probably with all the gunk running through, gives it a brownish tinge.
Ok well thanks for confirming as I was initially thinking of an algae. Now my question is for my new tank build is it worth getting rid of NOPO-X and will biopellets be sufficient.
__________________

305g Basement Reef - April 2018.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-05-2018, 09:55 AM
DorySaid DorySaid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Calgary
Posts: 45
DorySaid is on a distinguished road
Default

Biopellets will always be sufficient. I think the key is more about dialing it in correctly without overdoing it.
That slime is probably a result of some stagnant areas in the sump. You could try a test and add a small power head around the affected areas and see if it disappears from that particular spot(s). Or even an airstone.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:14 AM
DKoKoMan's Avatar
DKoKoMan DKoKoMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,092
DKoKoMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DorySaid View Post
Biopellets will always be sufficient. I think the key is more about dialing it in correctly without overdoing it.
That slime is probably a result of some stagnant areas in the sump. You could try a test and add a small power head around the affected areas and see if it disappears from that particular spot(s). Or even an airstone.
You may be right for the slower areas of the sump. I have never saw it enter in to the display at all as I have high flow. I may switch back to biopellets on the new tank build as I absolutely hate this stringy snotty stuff.
__________________

305g Basement Reef - April 2018.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-05-2018, 02:47 PM
Myka's Avatar
Myka Myka is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK.
Posts: 11,263
Myka will become famous soon enough
Default

I don't think messing around with the flow in the sump is going to change anything for you. With a bio pellet reactor the bacteria is contained within the reactor. since you have the output of the reactor going straight into the skimmer, the skimmer pulls out all of that bacteria that escapes.

Biopellets always work, but in my experience it is very important to have that output of the reactor going into the skimmer.

I'm more concerned though that you need to run biopellets or some kind of carbon dosing to keep the nutrients down. You should not need to use any of these options long-term if you're doing effective aquarium maintenance, you have a good quality and appropriately sized protein skimmer, and your tank is not overstocked.
__________________
~ Mindy

SPS fanatic.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:14 PM
DorySaid DorySaid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Calgary
Posts: 45
DorySaid is on a distinguished road
Default

If you don't think stagnant water can contribute to the 'accumulation' of bacteria in the form of a slime substance, and don't wanna take my word for it, then put a couple of live rocks in a bucket with some water with no flow for a couple of weeks and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2018, 09:17 AM
DKoKoMan's Avatar
DKoKoMan DKoKoMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,092
DKoKoMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myka View Post
I don't think messing around with the flow in the sump is going to change anything for you. With a bio pellet reactor the bacteria is contained within the reactor. since you have the output of the reactor going straight into the skimmer, the skimmer pulls out all of that bacteria that escapes.

Biopellets always work, but in my experience it is very important to have that output of the reactor going into the skimmer.

I'm more concerned though that you need to run biopellets or some kind of carbon dosing to keep the nutrients down. You should not need to use any of these options long-term if you're doing effective aquarium maintenance, you have a good quality and appropriately sized protein skimmer, and your tank is not overstocked.
I agree with you Mindy on my tank being on the more heavy side of stocked. I definitely battle nutrients on a regular basis using the NOPO-X for carbon dosing has worked well to achieve 2-5ppm nitrates. I still have to use GFO in a reactor to keep my phosphate down. I am pretty dillegent with tank maintenance and do 20% biweekly WC.

I have decided to purchase a larger tank which will be done through Concept (305 gallon total). Iím hoping this will make a big difference in the high nutrient level. Until then I have backed down my carbon dosing to 12ml daily and by the sounds of it will not be getting rid of this slime for a while.

I am planning on running a biopellet reactor, looked at the AquaMaxx reactors but I may get an actual bubble magus or reef octopus biochurn to do the job. In your experience if I discontinue the carbon dosing via liquid in to the main water column and contain with a reactor will the slime eventually go away. Obviously I will siphon majority of it out. I really donít want slime in my brand new system.

Thanks
__________________

305g Basement Reef - April 2018.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:52 AM
DKoKoMan's Avatar
DKoKoMan DKoKoMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,092
DKoKoMan is on a distinguished road
Default

The other question I had was should I be dosing bacteria like MB7? I watched some YouTube videos and saw that with biopellets people would dose bacteria in to the tank. I am wondering if that is just to start the biopellets off or for a newer system.
__________________

305g Basement Reef - April 2018.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-07-2018, 02:00 PM
Myka's Avatar
Myka Myka is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK.
Posts: 11,263
Myka will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DKoKoMan View Post
The other question I had was should I be dosing bacteria like MB7? I watched some YouTube videos and saw that with biopellets people would dose bacteria in to the tank. I am wondering if that is just to start the biopellets off or for a newer system.
That's just to jumpstart it. Not needed.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Mindy

SPS fanatic.

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-07-2018, 09:31 PM
DKoKoMan's Avatar
DKoKoMan DKoKoMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,092
DKoKoMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myka View Post
That's just to jumpstart it. Not needed.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
Ok awesome thanks! Is there a preference in type or brand of biopellets that you have had success with on client tanks or your own?
__________________

305g Basement Reef - April 2018.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slime

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.