Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 02-09-2018, 05:20 PM
Dash's Avatar
Dash Dash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 131
Dash is on a distinguished road
Default

I ordered some copepods from AlgaeBarn & added them to the tank, along with their ďOcean MagikĒ phytoplankton. Yes, magik in my tank - gotta be good! Itís the 5280 mix of tigriopus, tisbe & apocyclops. Lots of tiny things swimming in the bag, so hope they result in a booming population as I hope to buy a girlfriend for my mandarin one day.

The glass on sump has always been crawling with tiny copepods but I donít see too many on the DT glass. I tried shaking my chaeto ball in the DT. Any other things I can try? Or assume theyíre just all hiding in rocks? My mandarin has been getting thinner though - thatís why I decided to boost the population.
__________________
Maggie
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:19 PM
Frogger's Avatar
Frogger Frogger is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 254
Frogger is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you have them shipped direct or did you have them shipped to Blaine?

If you had them shipped direct how much was shipping?

I want to get some stuff from them as they have a good clean product.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:51 PM
Frogger's Avatar
Frogger Frogger is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 254
Frogger is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash View Post
I ordered some copepods from AlgaeBarn & added them to the tank, along with their ďOcean MagikĒ phytoplankton. Yes, magik in my tank - gotta be good!
Let us know how adding phytoplankton directly to your tank affects your phosphate levels.

They say it will use nitrates and phosphates but my concern is the phytoplankton is packaged in a high nitrate/phosphate solution.

Years ago a was growing phytoplankton but found when I added it to my tank I had uncontrolled hair algae growth afterwards. So I stopped adding it to the tank and filtered the rotifers before adding them to the tank.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-10-2018, 12:15 AM
Dash's Avatar
Dash Dash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 131
Dash is on a distinguished road
Default

I picked it up in Blaine. I entered a coupon code (reef2reef?) & got a little discount. Terrible communication but package was delivered smoothly & was well-insulated.

I do have a bit of concern about dosing phytoplankton. How long would it be before issues manifest? My rock is pretty clean except for one piece that was newly added. Itís showing a bit of hair algae.
__________________
Maggie
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-10-2018, 02:03 AM
Frogger's Avatar
Frogger Frogger is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 254
Frogger is on a distinguished road
Default

I would monitor any changes in phosphates.

I am currently using Reef Nutrition phytoplankton to grow copepods but not sure if I want to add it directly to my tank.

I add the copepods to help supplement my pipefishes diet.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-10-2018, 03:24 AM
Dash's Avatar
Dash Dash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 131
Dash is on a distinguished road
Default

Full disclosure...I havenít tested any parameters since the transfer
Did I mention I have no instruments to test for phosphates?

Where do you buy your copepods?
__________________
Maggie
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-10-2018, 05:22 AM
Frogger's Avatar
Frogger Frogger is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 254
Frogger is on a distinguished road
Default

The only two things I regularly test for is phosphates and alkalinity.

The reason I test for phosphates is I add KNO3 to manage my phosphates and twice I have zero'd out my phosphates and fried my corals. First time really bad, second time I caught it in time.

I got my copepods from J&L (Tigerpods) and from Canada Copepods (3 different types of Copepods)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-10-2018, 05:48 AM
Dash's Avatar
Dash Dash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 131
Dash is on a distinguished road
Default

I wanted tisbe pods as I think they're more suitable for mandarins, and can thrive in temps of most SW tanks. Last time, I bought Todd’s Pods, from Las Vegas. I’ve checked out Canada Copepods but their shipping is pretty high. I believe you get less pods for the dollar as well. Were you happy with the product?

I accept that phosphates is likely a factor in my tank since I do not use RODI but it has not been a big issue for me. Definitely not running a ULN SPS-dominant etc etc system.
__________________
Maggie
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 02-10-2018, 06:56 AM
spit.fire's Avatar
spit.fire spit.fire is offline
Second Best
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 1,546
spit.fire is on a distinguished road
Default

lol i recognize that tank lol, the old owner still owes me some zoas because i drilled it and built the overflow box. Looks good tho, i love the peak on the rockscape in the middle
__________________
Guide to building super awesome rock structures / my tank journal
http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/sho...d.php?t=116410
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-10-2018, 07:07 AM
Dash's Avatar
Dash Dash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 131
Dash is on a distinguished road
Default

Yep, still holding water

Thanks, itís all held by gravity haha
__________________
Maggie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.