Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Pictures > Featured Tank

Old 05-08-2016, 02:07 PM

Myka will become famous soon enough
Default 2016 Spring Featured Tank - "Sahin" !

Congratulations to Sahin for being selected as Canreef's Spring 2016 Tank of the Quarter! Here's Sahin's beautiful SPS reef tank!

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I started reefkeeping more than 15 years ago. Prior to that I kept various freshwater aquariums. I studied Conservation Ecology at degree level at university and so my academic learning and reefkeeping are connected. Within a year of keeping soft corals and various LPS corals I was hooked on SPS corals; particularly the genus Acropora. My current tank is all about honing my skills at keeping acropora and creating conditions in my tank which result in vibrant colours in the corals. I am not there yet, but I aim to reach the best I can get with this tank before I venture onto my dream tank which will be a larger tank in the future.

The System
47G (US) Optiwhite (on 3 sides) 30L x 20D x 18H Custom built with Oceanlife Overflow
25G Sump and Eheim 1250 return pump
Deltec SC 1351 Skimmer
ATI Doser for Balling Lite
1 x Ecotech Marine MP40
1 x Ecotech Marine MP10
Tunze Osmolator
Fortex TC10 Temp Controller
Eheim Autofeeder

Fauna Marine Balling Lite for Ca, Alk and Mg
Redsea Pro Reef Salt

Giesemann Spectra 400w modified to:
1 x 400w Radium powered by Lumatek Selectable Ballast run at 400w setting
2 x ATI T5 - ATI CoralPlus Tubes using ATI Ballast & Reflectors from ATI and custom Active cooling
SemiLED LED strips using 16x445nm Diodes and 8x415nm Diodes @ 350mA
MH: 1:30 - 6:00 pm
LED: 12:00 - 9:00 pm
T5: 1 pm - 8:00 pm

Ca: 420ppm - Salifert - Once a month
Alk: 7.5dKH - Salifert - 2x weekly tested
Mg: 1300ppm - Salifert - Once a month
PO4: 0.03ppm - Elos High Resolution PO4 Kit - 2-3 Months
NO3: 0.2ppm - Salifert - 3 months