Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum

Old 02-15-2006, 06:14 PM

Kryten is on a distinguished road
Default Also looking for opinions on this live sand

Would you think this is a good deal? Anyone have any experience ordering live sand from the States? Would you just get a little bit of it and go the rest of the way with dry sand, or would you do your whole tank with this stuff? I'm new to sand as a substrate and not sure what's the best way to go.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...e=STRK:MEWA:IT

or

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...e=STRK:MEWA:IT
Old 02-15-2006, 06:20 PM
Masterbaiter

Joe Reefer is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Joe Reefer

I would buy new sand and get a couple of cups of sand from a friend with an established system to seed the new sand. The new sand will eventually become live sand.
Old 02-15-2006, 06:54 PM

Myanth is on a distinguished road

I bought aragamax live sand, two bags, and three 30 lb bags of dry sand and combined, (be sure to rinse dry sand for like... ever.) I then added them to the tank with one ten pound piece of liverock, a heater, about twenty gallons of water in a 90 gal tank, a powerhead, and a 20gph fountain pump pumping water through a one gallon plastic jug full of bio balls with a small hole in bottom.

I had a fully seated sand bed in a month, with brine, mysis, and hundreds of colonies of things swimming around. I left this set up for six months until I had the equipment ready for my 90 to be set up right. When I set it up I added 90 lbs of liverock and had it cured and cylcled completely in about three weeks.

This was the way I did it. It was expensive. I would recommend you using dry sand. Aragonite sugar sand for surface area. Then seed it with some sand from someone else. Just make sure you're not bringing anything that you don't want... like ich. The whole bed should seed in no time.

Good Luck

Mike