Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 08-26-2016, 03:34 PM

Animal-Chin is on a distinguished road
Default Does stopping carbon dosing...

make your nitrates go through the roof?

I used NOPOX for a few months and my nitrates went from 20 to 10 which was fine but I found the bad outweighed the good from using it so I stopped. I read all over the internet that it was ok to just stop.

So I notice some weird action with my coral in the tank and start testing the water. Cal normal, alk fine, no phosphates still and then I test nitrates....80!

I've been reefing for 6 years and have never had nitrates like this!!! I only have 8 fish in a 125 gallon so I'm not over stocked. My feeding routeen hasn't changed.

Does the de nitrifying bacteria dying off cause a huge nitrate spike?

My only other thought is a sea cumber or starfish died under the rock work or something.
Old 08-26-2016, 04:20 PM
Likes to play with Fish

tang daddy is on a distinguished road

Is your tank sand or bare bottom, perhaps a lot of detritous in the sump and sand leeching out nitrates over time which has happened with a sand bed, especially if you have a fish that sifts the sand releasing nitrates over time. Perhaps you need a few large water changes to get rid of the build up.

90g starphire cube/400mhRadium20k/2 XHO/2x27w UV/2x39w T5/ 3 Trulumen led strips
Old 08-26-2016, 04:26 PM

Sand bed, pretty shallow though and pretty clean. My sump is spotless so its not a sump issue for sure.

My amazement is the speed in which this happened. 2 weeks ago I was worried about a reading of 15, now I'm at 80? Something major is going on, though maybe bacteria dying off could cause this?
Old 08-26-2016, 05:16 PM
Likes to play with Fish

How long has your tank been up? Any pics of the rock work/tank? Can you confirm if the cuc did actually die?