Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 03-01-2015, 05:05 AM

hondas3000 is on a distinguished road
Default Instant ocean salt parameter

Hi everyone, I am new to reef and trying to have my tank stable and enjoy my tank but I have some question hoping for answer.

I am using instant ocean mix salt and I did a test from a fresh mix that power head and heated over night with gravity 1.025 and using the test kit salifert and this is what i get from the fresh mix

Alkalinity 3.7meq/l
calcium 400 ppm
magnesium 1170ppm

I did 10% weekly water change and here is my question with instant ocean salt is it a good parameter to keep coral? it is a mix reef so a bit of everything. Should i dose magnesium to 1200ppm to 1400ppm range?

My tank parameter right now is
alkalinity 4.22 meq/l
calcium 370ppm
magnesium 1170ppm

so should I dose calcium to bring it up to 400ppm and dose magnesium up to 1200-1400ppm range as well? and let alkalinity drop slowly to range? If I dose calcium how fast can I dose it? and what product should I use? can I use two part A and B or just calcium liquid itself. So please let me know what I should do and what I should continue doing so I don't end up killing any of my coral. Right now I just notice my majestic angel eating my zoas .
Old 03-01-2015, 01:45 PM

Bblinks is on a distinguished road

Yes I would dose mag first to raise it to the proper level, alk will slowly go down by itself and dose calcium once mag is at 1350 to 1400. Remember slow and steady, no more than 50 ppm per day.

Sorry to hear the angel is making a quick meal out of zoas. Time to start keeping some sps.

300DD - 140DD

TOTM Fall 2013
Old 03-01-2015, 02:18 PM
Just a guy..

Aquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the roughAquattro is a jewel in the rough