Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Nano Tank Talk

Old 05-02-2009, 05:09 AM

DACJ is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to DACJ
Default New 29G BioCube

Hi all !

First of all, I am a total newbie to salt water aquarium, and this is my first tank, so please bare with me if I did, asked or said anything that is really stupid...

I had the BC for quite a while but I used it for fresh water instead, and things seemed to work out quite well back then, only problem is that waterflow which all the BC owners will definately know what I am talking about whether they had the problem or not, and I've already cut open the flow gate from the 1st chamber to the 2nd chamber.....Then I moved last year, and unfortunately the fresh water fish did not make it, so I washed out the whole thing, had it dry for a little more than half an year, and I am ready to try out salt water now!

I did my initial setup last wednesday (29th of April), within 2 hours, I had live rock, live sand, and water, pump, everything basic in the tank, and then I left for work, by the time I got home (maybe 8 hours later?) water was crystal clear already.

Here is my setup...

The LR was 8.99/lb...which I bought 30lb and costed me a loooooot of money...almost $300. I had the sand in there, then assembled the rocks, then I added the water and made sure the SC was up to where it's supposed to be. I still have the bioballs in the 2nd chamber as the water dripping was way too loud without the balls. I know it's not good for salt water as I will remove it as soon as I get chance. I had no convenient ways of getting spring water or RO water, so I had to use tap water form the shower and used API Stree Coat Conditioner, and used KENT Sea Salt to mix with the water. I forgot what brand was the live sand as I threw the bag right after I finish setting up. I also added a Koralia 1 as the LFS suggested I will need more flow in the tank.