Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 04-02-2012, 05:51 AM

fido19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Powerhead question

hey guys i took the plunge into saltwater about a year and a half ago and i must say it is a hobby i really enjoy, the forums have been really helpful with a lot of info.
i have one question to ask and that is how do you guys place powerheads, idont have anything fancy yet but i am considering getiing a vortech or a tunze but for the time being is there any way you guys recommend placing powerheads in such a way that i have areas of high flow and low flow.
i am getting my tank aquascaped soon(i know i dont have the artistic ability) is there anything you veterans recommend that i should do in particular

i appreciate any info and this is my first time being in a forum so if i break any rules i apologise
Old 04-02-2012, 06:02 AM

subman is on a distinguished road

First off welcome!

As for powerheads I like multiple smaller ones across the back at differing heights as to not blast one area. This sometimes is not possible so if you have one larger on Id place it further away and across the front of the rocks to get some flow without hammering one area. You just have to play with it till you hit the sweetspot.

As for aquascaping look through the great pics on here and see what you like and work with your rock to replicate it. I like lots of caves and overhangs for the fish to swim through but not everyone is into that.

Most importantly have fun and enjoy this hobby it can be very frustrating and rewarding at the same time!

My other summer hobby:
http://www.edkra.ca
Old 04-02-2012, 06:07 AM

hey thanks for the info, i have one big power head and one small one.
my setup is a 60 gallon for now.
is it advisable to run a tank with one just powerhead(a powerfull one)