Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 07-09-2011, 10:37 PM

Azzkr is on a distinguished road
Default First Corals

Hi There I am New to The Saltwater tanks and i was wondering what are some good first corals to grow in a tank. Hardy ones are better for me i work out of town lots
Old 07-09-2011, 10:46 PM

BMahura is on a distinguished road

Some good corals to start with are zoanthids and mushrooms. Both are very hardy and have great growth. As well you could try some green star polyp (GSP)
Old 07-09-2011, 10:46 PM

RedCoralLethbridge is on a distinguished road

Hey Mike

Definitely some zoathids, some LPS coral such as Torch, Frogspawn, or Hammer. They are great beginner corals and are very hardy. Welcome to Canreef!!

Craig
Red Coral Lethbridge
Old 07-09-2011, 11:01 PM

phi delt reefer is on a distinguished road

Mushrooms and gsp and pulsating xenia can quickly over take a tank and turn into a pest so be careful with them. Zoos are great for they come in a million colors and relatively cheap.
Old 07-10-2011, 12:00 AM

jorjef is on a distinguished road

If you don't have early success don't give up... All the mentioned corals are are what most people call common "beginner" corals, but every tank is different. In my experience I have never been able to keep Zoas, I think I have one head remaining, any mushroom covered rock I get ultimately sheds all the mushrooms. Some relocate some just waste away and as far as Zenia goes it just shrivels and disinegrates. Go figure.. I do have and they seem to be thriving are Duncans, donuts, fox coral, brains, plates, torchs, hammer feather dusters, and rics. You will fail with some corals,everyone does but once you find what works in your tank you will be set.
Old 07-10-2011, 12:11 AM

skabooya is on a distinguished road

Some very good posts above.