Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Reef

Old 12-06-2012, 02:23 PM

mikeclarke is on a distinguished road
Default Calgary Stores, Stocking Questions, and preparing my tank for Mandarins

Hi there,

My 100 gallon tank has been left decimated after a big ich outbreak. My sps, zoas, softies, all look okay. All I have left is

-1 clown
-1 foxface
-4 pj cardinals
-1 starry blenny
-2 cleaner shrimps

I had and lost
-the other clown
-yellow tang
-kole eyed tang
-emperor angel
-royal gramma
-goblin goby

I'd like to get another clown as they were fun to watch together and I really liked the emperor angel. I have only been in the saltwater hobby for 2 years so I am a bit of a newbie. Does anyone have any suggestions on what fish I should get, what people suggest for qt procedures (I have a 20gal qt tank), and importantly where to get the fish.

I would one day like to get mandarins and I would like to make sure they don't survive. I have a 50 gallon sump in the basement but I've read that you really don't get many copepods that transfer from the sump/refugium back upstairs. So what should I do?

I am coming to Calgary next weekend and would like to get some more fish (and obviously qt them this time). What fish would people suggest? What store(s) should I check out? I live in Fernie and it is about 3 hrs away.
Old 12-06-2012, 02:42 PM

jtbadco is on a distinguished road

There are a few things you can do to assist with getting Mandarin gobys to thrive.

First, having alot of good intricate LR in the DT is essential. You need lots of little cracks and crevices for the copepods and amphipods to reproduce in.

You can assist this with little 'rubble piles' located throughout the DT as well.

You can also build a small 'cryptic tank' or sump/refugium above the tank and gravity feed the return into the tank.