Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Product Review and Equipment Forum > Pump Specific

Old 09-10-2013, 04:54 PM

MikeAshworth is on a distinguished road
Default 90 Gallon Setup - Vortech or Tunze?

Hello everyone!

Please bear with me as this is my first post
I'm new to CanReef and the reefing hobby itself, and am in the process of planning to build my first setup - a 90gallon mixed reef setup (48Lx18Wx24H).

I am currently awaiting the arrival of my new 90Gallon custom rimless tank (can't wait) and am trying to figure out what powerheads to use for flow. My tank is pre drilled for the overflow which is located directly in the middle of the tank (thinking of doing a wall aqauscape to cover most of the overflow).

Originally i was planning on doing a CLS + powerhead combo but then reconsidered and decided to keep it simple and just stick with powerheads. I'm down to choosing either the Vortech Mp40wes(either x1 or x2) or the Tunze Turbelle® nanostream® 6095 (x2 or x3) + controller. I would rather dish out the dough for quality powerheads rather than buy mediocre ones and wish to upgrade two months later..

In order to save money i would like to get things right the first time around, so please help me out!

I like the whole idea of the Mp40's - wireless, amazing overall flow, small footprint/low profile (goes nicely with my rimless tank). In addition, the tank for the time being will be in the basement (as my parents didn't want to reinforce the main floor level) so noise isn't THAT much of an issue. However, when the time comes to move the tank into my own home, i would definitely want the tank in the living room, so noise could be an issue then.. just crossing my fingers and hoping that by the time i have my own place, there will be a new model out in which ecotech will address the noise issues on their products.