Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > Tank Journal

Old 09-18-2012, 02:38 AM

Jakegr is on a distinguished road
Default Jake's seahorse reef

Starting a new tank!

It will feature two 24”x24”x22” cube(ish) tanks,, a 36”x16”x16” sump/DSB refugium, and two standard ten gallon tanks for ATO and easy water changes.

My goals:
1) Very quiet tank(s).
2) Keep power consumption low.
3) Reduce tank maintenance/ make maintenance easy.

Tank #1: Soft coral, macro algae, sea grass and seahorse tank. I have no experience keeping sea horses and sea grasses, so this build has required some reading on my part. I guess that is the main reason for this tank… I just wanted to try something new! Over time, I plan on adding a pair of Mandarin dragonets and harlequin shrimp. All of these species require special attention, and I will be adding them slowly to ensure I have a good grasp on the husbandry techniques needed to keep them healthy.

Tank #2: It will depend on the water chemistry I am able to achieve in the sea horse tank alone. This tank will be added to the system next year. I am open to theme ideas! I have not even ordered this tank yet.

Details:

Custom Concept Aquatics 24”x24”x22” starfire tank with external Bean Animal Overflow (12” long), one piece euro brace, and a blue ABS background. The return line will come back through the overflow, so there will be four holes in the external overflow box. I should get it in within a month. Like everyone else I have talked to, I have only good things to say about my experience working with Dave.

The display will have a 2.5” DSB (mixture of mud and aragonite sugar sand) for seagrass and ~20-30 lbs of Bali live rock. A Maxspect Razor will light the tank. I like the sleek form, lack of fans, and price. They are not, however, available in Canada yet.

(rendering by Concept Aquatics).