Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Reef (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   "xenia crash" can someone see the problem in xenia picture i posted (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46809)

fishguy007 11-22-2008 11:24 PM

"xenia crash" can someone see the problem in xenia picture i posted

hello,

my xenia have shriveled again. i attached some pics. can someone tell what is wrong with them by the picture.

my ph was 7.8 today about. i rapidly just bosted it mins ago with ph boost. its like 8.4 now.

why is my ph going so low. what is wrong with teh xenia and what can i do.

do they look dead by the picture?

fishguy007 11-22-2008 11:26 PM

ph 8.3

how can i make my ph stay at 8.3

dabandit 11-23-2008 12:16 AM

Im no expert but I think your ph is balanced in part by your other parameters,what are they at?
P.S you should be raising your ph slowlly sudden changes in your conditions could be the reason why your xenia is sick. Also I dont see any growth on your rock how old is your setup?

fishguy007 11-23-2008 01:11 AM

xenia problem

from the pictures. do you think that the xenia will come back.???????????????????????????????????????/

the set up is just over a month old.

is there any way that i can make it age quicker.

all my parameters appear to be ok. ph is just a bit low.

ElGuappo 11-23-2008 02:15 AM

all i can suggest is patience. still a new tank.

mike31154 11-23-2008 02:38 AM

pH will vary depending on the time of day it is measured. In most systems it will be lower during the night. Light and oxygen both impact your pH. When the lights go out, pH will start dropping. Adequate flow will aid oxygenation/gas exchange to stabilize pH. I've often heard people recommend opening a door or window allowing fresh air into the house to raise pH. Trouble with that is it's pretty much out of the question during the winter.

Powertec 11-23-2008 03:11 AM