Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Reef (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Return pump brand insight for new 220 (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=125420)

SharkBait48 02-02-2018 11:06 PM

Return pump brand insight for new 220

Looking for return pump for my new 220 gallon!

Had to be:

- extremely quiet
- reliable
- effiecent
- variable settings would be nice

Any suggestions or insight?

whatcaneyedo 02-03-2018 01:26 AM

I've been using a Reeflo Dart for around 8 years that I purchased used. They're pretty good except that occasionally the shaft seal begins to leak and needs to be replaced. I had to replace mine about 6 years ago. They are rated up to 3600 gph at 0 head, I'm probably getting a little over 2000 gph out of mine. If you were thinking of something larger/smaller it would be worth mentioning.

FishyFishy! 02-03-2018 04:47 AM

Pretty confident a dart or reeflo of any kind wouldnt fall under the category of "extremely quiet" lol. Though they are extremely reliable and high flow pumps.

WarDog 02-03-2018 06:28 AM

Look into the Fluval SP series.

Frogger 02-03-2018 06:55 AM

I would look into the new DC pumps, controllable and use a lot less power to flow. Cost more up front but in the end are a lot cheaper when total costs.

I just purchased 2 of the Jabeo DCS Series pumps for my two setups. I haven't hooked them up yet but they have great reviews, energy efficient, quiet and not expensive.

DC pumps also work well with the icecap battery backup systems, main reason I purchased them.

Frogger 02-03-2018 07:06 AM

The Jebao DCS 12000 Silent Pump moves over 3000 gallons per hour and uses a maximum of 80 watts. For under $200 Canadian can't be beat. You can buy a backup for that price.